Five things God says about who you are

What do you think God thinks about when He thinks about you?

Most of you will answer with broken, unworthy, not good enough, lonely, sinful and doomed. The list could go on; selfish, lustful, unforgivable, impatient and angry. If I were to answer that question two years ago that would have been my response.

I truly felt that God thought of me as a horrible, broken, unworthy person because of choices and mistakes I made in my past. I saw myself as too far gone. I believed there was no way that God would be able to use me or even want to use me or love me again.

Maybe you feel that way too. Maybe you, like me, really believe there is no hope for you.

Well I have news for you. You are NOT too far gone. It is never to late to turn around and run directly too a heavenly father that welcomes you with arms wide opened. There is no mistake or choice you can make that will take away God’s love for you.

I have been where you are. I have felt what you are feeling now. It is hard and not fun. Actually it sucks. You likely feel all alone, but you are not. I am with you. I have walked where you are currently walking.

These are five verses that I cling to when I start to buy into the enemies lies about who I am. I believe that resting in and meditating on these verses will start to change your outlook on what you think God thinks about when he thinks about you.

You are redeemed and forgiven. No mistake you have made can keep you from God’s grace.

In Him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace” Ephesians 1:7

Imago Dei. It is Greek and means “created in the image of God.” God created you just the way he wanted you to be. Your hair, your body, your personality. HE created EVERYTHING about you, and he calls it good. Be careful criticizing yourself, because you are really criticizing the work of God.

“So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” Genesis 1:27

You are loved. God loves us enough to send His son to die so that we could live an eternal life in Heaven.

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved.” Ephesians 2:4-8

You are accepted. We all want to be accepted in one way or another. Well, there is good news! We are accepted by the King of the World; how amazing is that?!

“Receive one another, then, just as Christ also received you, to God’s glory.” Romans 15:7.

You are healed. You are healed from your brokenness. You are healed from your anxiety, depression and sickness. Whatever is hindering you, you have been healed by the blood of Jesus.

“With His wounds we are healed.” Isaiah 53:5

What other truths and verses do you cling to when you start to question who you are in Christ?

6 thoughts on “Five things God says about who you are

  1. adventureswitheytch says:

    I love this. The message “No mistake you have made can keep you from God’s grace” is such a powerful one, but is also one that is so hard to believe. For this reason, support and reinforcement from other believers is crucial I always fall back on the verse Philippians 1:6 “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.”

    Like

  2. ralstononamission says:

    I love the encouragement you share in this blog to live into the truth that Christ brings. For me, I have a hard time distinguishing my purpose to follow the world apart from following Christ. The passage that brings me back though is 1 Corinthians 13. In that passage, I find my purpose which is to love God and people no matter how confused or frustrated I get with finding my path.

    Like

  3. chris zappia says:

    I love the inclusion of the bible verses in this post. In a blog like this that is meant to uplift and help your readers, reinforcing them is always an awesome thing to do. Anytime someone can directly pull information, it adds to the legitimacy of the post, and also gives the reader starting point on where to begin their own journey.

    Like

  4. feedmenashville says:

    Such a great read! This really puts it in to perspective in every angle of your life. Often times we think we are so unworthy of any ones’ love, much less Gods’. These verses really make you step back and realize that you are a uniquely and wonderfully made individual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

