You are what you think

     screen-shot-2016-09-29-at-12-44-38-pm

 

Have you ever heard the saying, “you are what you eat”? For example; if all you eat is donuts you are eventually going start looking like a donut, or if all you eat is junk food you are going to feel like junk.

I believe the same is true for your thoughts. The things you think about really can shape who you are and your outlook on life. It is easy to let your mind get carried away with random thoughts good and bad. I am very much of a dreamer. My mind is constantly churning. While this can be great, it can also take a toll on you.

I remember a time in my life when everything I said and thought was negative. I wasn’t smart enough, pretty enough, I was stupid. I thought every outcome in any situation was going to turn out bad and  nothing good was going to ever happen to me. Honestly, my freshman year was though because I truly had a horrible perception of how it was going to go before it even started.

Once you start down the road of negative thinking, it’s a long journey back to “normal.” Many things influence a negative mindset, the way you see yourself, the way you feel others see you, ect. You have to train your mind like you would train for a marathon. Persistence and dedication are key. No one can do thins for you, just like no one can run a marathon for you.

You are probably thinking one of two things right now. Either, how do I change my thought patterns or you think that my belief in the power of positive thinking is ridiculous. For those doubters I dare you to come along this journey with me and try it out. You have nothing to lose.

The first way I learned to control my negative thoughts was to write down everything good or bad I believed about myself. For every negative thing I wrote down I found a bible verse about who God says I am and did my best to memorize them.

Second, I put sticky notes all over my bathroom mirror with positive things that I had to recite out loud every morning. If I did this everyday for a week I would reward myself with a treat. I wrote things like, “I am fearfully and wonderfully made, I am smart, I am kind, I am going to have a good day.” I didn’t just put them on my mirror. I put them in my car, my notebooks, basically any where I would see them throughout the day.

Next, I had to learn to learn to counteract every negative thought with a positive one. This was the hardest for me because no one can really hold you accountable for what goes through your head. To make this more tactile I made a journal and wrote down everything good and bad about my day and then thanked God for both the good and bad encounters.

These are just a few simple ways to create a positive environment around you and ultimately take back the control of your mind. When I put these behavior modifications into place in my life, my attitude and mindset turned around. I believe its important to try to see the good in every situation and it is very hard at times. But being able to control your thoughts and not let them run wild really helps bring a different outlook to the table in every situation.

These are a few verses that really encouraged me to change my mindset and think more positively.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

 

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2”

 

What are some things  you do to keep a positive attitude and good thoughts?

 

3 thoughts on “You are what you think

Leave a Reply

