Let yourself rest

let-yourself-rest

Does anyone feel like they are extremely needy, tired, irritable and grumpy the past few weeks? Maybe you feel that nothing is going right, no matter how much effort you are putting in to school, work, [ect.] Or you find yourself feeling like you need more attention from your friends and family than usual.

You aren’t alone in these feelings. I am right there with you. We’ve hit the middle of the semester, and I am exhausted–mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually. My to-do list is continuous, and there are never enough hours in the day.

A sweet friend reminded me a few days ago that I needed to take the time to rest. “In order to fill an empty cup you have to slow down and take a break,” she said. I knew that I needed to rest, especially in the Lord, but where am I going to fit that into my schedule?

This got me thinking. “What are some practical ways I can spend a few minutes each day resting in the Lord?” This is what I came up with:

In the car. I commute to school and spend a ridiculous amount of time in the car each day. Most people spend some time in the car, every day. Why not take advantage of it? Turn off the radio and just drive in silence thanking God for the beautiful things you see along your journey.

Put it on your to-do list. Write in five minutes of free time into your schedule or to-do list. Take this time to just breathe. Sit outside, lie down in the grass or on a comfy couch and just be still. Don’t think about everything you should be doing, just do your best to focus your attention on the Lord.

Turn off your phone. I am the world’s worst about being on my phone. The second I get a little break I switch it on and aimlessly scroll through social media. I am making it a personal goal to keep my phone off during at least one of my small breaks during the day, in order to bring my attention to the Lord. This could be walking to class, during lunch, between projects at work, ect.

God created the Sabbath so that each week His followers were “forced” to take a break from their stressors and given time to relax in His presence. In today’s culture, taking a break from daily tasks is considered unproductive and often times lazy. But the Lord knew we would need rest, so he set a side a whole day for us and made a commandment to keep it holy.

The Sabbath is a blessing the King of Kings created for us and we all kind of just look over it and say, “Ain’t nobody got time for that.” In my own life I can’t imagine taking a whole day to rest and just do nothing. But, I can take a few minutes out of each day to have “mini Sabbaths.”

For me, I see a difference in my attitude when I take the time to spend a few minutes with Jesus and be still. These are just a few ways to create space in your day for a short time of rest.

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” Matthew 11:28

What are some other ways we can spend a few minutes resting in the Lord?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Let yourself rest

  1. McKenzie says:

    I really enjoyed this post. I often find it hard to find enough time to just be still and thank God for all he has done for me! I really like how you put examples for us because some people usually want to find ways to spend a little time with God but they cannot think of anything. I also feel you on the being tired and everything kind of hitting you all at once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

